Bach and the Violin

January 30, 2021 | 7 PM EST

J.S. Bach's Chaconne has endured through centuries and remains one of the most substantial works for solo violin. Alyssa and Nicholas unpack what makes the Chaconne so great, and invite you to join them on an exploration of the music of one of the most important composers in history. 


Partita No. 3 in E Major: Prelude

Sonata No. 2 in A Minor: Andante

Partita No. 2 in D Minor: Allemande

Partita No. 2 in D Minor: Ciaccona

Alyssa Wang, violin

Nicholas Brown, host

Alyssa Wang

Alyssa Wang is a passionate and versatile violinist, conductor, and composer. In 2016, she earned her Bachelor’s Degree from Carnegie Mellon University under the tutelage of Andrés Cárdenes. She was the winner of the Carnegie Mellon School of Music Concerto Competition and the Silbermann Chamber Music Competition, and is the recipient of the Pittsburgh Female College Association Prize, the Carnegie Mellon Women’s Award, the Senior Leadership Award, and the Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award. During her senior year at Carnegie Mellon she helped to run the Heritage Scholarship Campaign, which raised over $180,000 to start a substantial undergraduate merit scholarship for future School of Music students. Alyssa is also an Andrew Carnegie Scholar. Alyssa completed two Master’s Degrees in violin performance and conducting at the New England Conservatory. During the summers she has been assistant conductor for the Colorado College Summer Music Festival with Scott Yoo and the New Hampshire Music Festival with Paul Polivnick. Currently, Alyssa is the violinist of Hub New Music, a Boston-based mixed-quartet that performs 21st century music. Most recently, Alyssa was commissioned by the Palo Alto Philharmonic as a composer. She also looks forward to the inaugural season of the Boston Festival Orchestra, of which she is co-founder, Artistic Director, and Principal Conductor. In her spare time, Alyssa enjoys composing, writing, and photography. For more information please visit